Email if you would like to run site.

This site is closed.

Click on image to take you to Gibraltar Rugby site.

Visit the GRFU site

Click on image to take you to Gibraltar Rugby site.

Cricket: Gibraltarian cricketer chosen for European Academy squad

Young cricketers from six countries will come together next month to form the European Academy side, which will play three one-day matches against the England under-17 XI and a two-day game against Warwickshire’s Under-19 side.

The selectors made up of the ICC’s European Development Manager, Richard Holdsworth, Academy Manager Philip Hudson and Academy Director Richard Cox, has announced a fourteen-man squad, all of whom took part in the recent Academy programme at La Manga Club, Spain.

The bulk of the squad comes from the three countries which are participating in the ICC’s High Performance Program (Ireland, The Netherlands, and Scotland), but there will also be players from Denmark, France and Gibraltar.

The Academy team will not be short of international experience: four of the Irish players and two of the Scots took part in the recent Under-19 World Cup tournament in Sri Lanka. All the players have come through the European Cricket Council’s system of age-group tournaments, while several are already playing in top-level senior cricket in their respective countries.

The full squad is: Zishan Shah (Denmark), Arun Ayyavooraju (France), Mark Bacarese (Gibraltar), Eoghan Delany, James Hall, Richard Keaveney, Fintan McAllister and Gavin McKenna (all Ireland), Steven de Bruin, Graham Davey and Oliver Lodder (all The Netherlands), Scott Dagliesh, Scott Maclennan and Calum Macleod (all Scotland).

The programme of matches will be:

24, 25 and 27 June vs England Under-17 (Haslegrave, Loughborough University)

28-29 June vs Warwickshire Under-19 (Loughborough Carillon CC)

Click here: To read about Gibraltar's, Ian Farrell and his cricket scholarship

Home (top)

  • SportGibraltar FORUM to discuss sport on the Rock

  • Visit our ARCHIVEs section to read up on past posts --->


    Post a Comment