Email if you would like to run site.

This site is closed.

Click on image to take you to Gibraltar Rugby site.

Visit the GRFU site

Click on image to take you to Gibraltar Rugby site.

Darts: ANDY HAMILTON picks up first PDC Pro Tour title with a 3-1 win over Colin Lloyd in Sunday's Players Championship in Gibraltar

ANDY HAMILTON The Stoke star overcame Andy Smith, Roland Scholten, Terry Jenkins and Alan Warriner-Little on his way to the final.

There, he took the first five legs without reply against the former World Number One, to put himself 2-0 up and within touching distance of the win.

Lloyd hit back to stay in the match on double four and then matched Hamilton blow for blow - the pair began with 180s - to win the deciding leg of the third set.

A third maximum of the game gave Hamilton the edge in the first leg of set four, which he won on double eight, and he then sealed the £5,000 first prize on double 16 after Lloyd missed two darts at double top.

Lloyd avenged Saturday's loss to Adrian Lewis in the quarter-finals with a victory at the same stage 24 hours later, and he overcame Colin Osborne in the semi-finals.

Michael van Gerwen ended Raymond van Barneveld's winning run with a superb 3-0 victory over the World Champion.

The 17-year-old had inflicted van Barneveld's last defeat - in a Players Championship in Holland last November - and dropped only one leg in repeating the feat against Saturday's winner.

The young Dutchman was eventually beaten by on-song Alan Warriner-Little, who enjoyed a run to the last four and also defeated Gary Welding, Wayne Mardle and John Part on the day.

Andy Hamilton is pictured being presented with a commemorative trophy by Stan James' (Gibraltar based) Rachel Rottger and Gibraltar Sports Minister Fabian Vinet Players Championship
First Round
Kirk Shepherd 3-1 Mick McGowan
Michael van Gerwen 3-1 Matt Clark
Raymond van Barneveld 3-0 Andrew Davies
Kevin Painter 3-2 Henry O'Neill
Carlos Jose Rodriguez Sequera 3-2 Barrie Bates
Alan Warriner-Little 3-0 Manolo v. Rodriguez
Wayne Mardle 3-0 Dyson Parody
Alan Tabern 3-0 Barry McLaren
Rocco Maes 3-1 Dave Ladley
John Part 3-0 Vincent van der Voort
Dave Askew Bye (Francisco Ruiz)
Darren Johnson Bye (Vernon Shepherd)
Terry Jenkins 3-0 Simon Craven
Alex Roy 3-0 Ian Eames
Ronnie Baxter 3-0 Bob Crawley
Lionel Sams 3-0 George Ramos
Roland Scholten 3-0 Alan Caves
Andy Smith 3-0 Kieran Leal
Shane Passey 3-0 Barry French
Andy Hamilton 3-0 Nigel Peden
Steve Beaton 3-0 Bob Avenell
Dave Honey 3-1 Jason Crawley
Colin Lloyd 3-1 Darren Webster
Denis Ovens 3-0 Nicholas Barbara
Justin Broton Bye (Chris Mason)
Bob Anderson 3-0 Henry Zapata
Adrian Lewis 3-0 Tony Randell
Wes Newton 3-1 Steve Grubb
Owen Caffrey 3-0 George Grant
James Wade 3-0 Dave Jowett
Colin Osborne 3-0 Kevin Spiolek
Ben Burton 3-1 Dylan Duo
Robert Watson-Lang 3-2 Dennis Priestley
Wayne Jones 3-0 Jim Leighton
Andy Jenkins 3-1 Steve Brown
Ian Whillis 3-1 Dennis Smith
Jon Archer 3-1 Martin Burchell
Peter Manley 3-1 Lee White
Mark Dudbridge Bye (Garrett Gray)
Tab Hunter 3-1 Yves Cottenge
Sean Palfrey 3-1 Mark Walsh

Second Round
Adrian Gray 3-2 Kirk Shepherd
Michael van Gerwen 3-0 Raymond van Barneveld
Kevin Painter 3-2 Jimmy Mann
Carlos Jose Rodriguez Sequera 3-1 Robbie Green
Alan Warriner-Little 3-0 Gary Welding
Wayne Mardle 3-0 Chris Sargeant
Alan Tabern Bye (Steve Maish)
John Part 3-1 Rocco Maes
Dave Askew Bye (Jason Clark)
Terry Jenkins 3-2 Darren Johnson
Alex Roy 3-0 Paul Wills
Ronnie Baxter 3-1 Paul Dillon
Lionel Sams 3-2 Richie Burnett
Roland Scholten 3-0 Alan Kimberley
Andy Smith 3-0 Ray Farrell
Andy Hamilton 3-0 Shane Passey
Wayne Atwood 3-1 Steve Beaton
Colin Lloyd 3-2 Dave Honey
Denis Ovens 3-0 John MaGowan
Jamie Cavan 3-1 Justin Broton
Bob Anderson 3-1 Danny Peach
Adrian Lewis 3-0 Peter Evison
Wes Newton 3-0 George Federico
James Wade 3-2 Owen Caffrey
Colin Osborne 3-0 Bruce Terrett
Ben Burton 3-2 Robert Watson-Lang
Jelle Klaasen 3-2 Wayne Jones
Colin Monk 3-1 Andy Jenkins
Ian Whillis Bye (Ian Branks)
Peter Manley 3-0 Jon Archer
Mark Dudbridge 3-1 Ian Critchett
Sean Palfrey 3-1 Tab Hunter
Losers £75

Third Round
Michael van Gerwen 3-2 Adrian Gray
Carlos Jose Rodriguez Sequera 3-2 Kevin Painter
Alan Warriner-Little 3-1 Wayne Mardle
John Part 3-0 Alan Tabern
Terry Jenkins 3-1 Dave Askew
Alex Roy 3-2 Ronnie Baxter
Roland Scholten 3-0 Lionel Sams
Andy Hamilton 3-1 Andy Smith
Colin Lloyd 3-1 Wayne Atwood
Denis Ovens 3-0 Jamie Cavan
Adrian Lewis 3-2 Bob Anderson
Wes Newton 3-1 James Wade
Colin Osborne 3-2 Ben Burton
Jelle Klaasen 3-0 Colin Monk
Peter Manley 3-1 Ian Whillis
Sean Palfrey 3-2 Mark Dudbridge
Losers £150

Fourth Round
Michael van Gerwen 3-0 Carlos Jose Rodriguez Sequera
Alan Warriner-Little 3-2 John Part
Terry Jenkins 3-1 Alex Roy
Andy Hamilton 3-1 Roland Scholten
Colin Lloyd 3-2 Denis Ovens
Adrian Lewis 3-2 Wes Newton
Colin Osborne 3-1 Jelle Klaasen
Peter Manley 3-1 Sean Palfrey
Losers £300

Alan Warriner-Little 3-1 Michael van Gerwen
Andy Hamilton 3-0 Terry Jenkins
Colin Lloyd 3-1 Adrian Lewis
Colin Osborne 3-2 Peter Manley
Losers £600

Andy Hamilton 3-1 Alan Warriner-Little
Colin Lloyd 3-1 Colin Osborne
Losers £1,250

Andy Hamilton 3-1 Colin Lloyd (2-0, 2-0, 1-2, 2-0)
Winner £5,000
Runner-Up £2,500

Home (top) FORUM For discussion on Gibraltar issues

Visit our ARCHIVES section for previous posts or use the SEARCH tool for specific items.


Post a Comment