- Leaving the balls as they are and playing the white ball from where it is.
- Re-racking and playing the white ball from behind the baulk line as in a normal break (with two visits)
There is no longer a “D”, there will only be a “Baulk line”. The cue ball may be placed anywhere BEHIND the line.
After a foul break (2 balls do not pass middle pocket) you have a choice of:
PLAYING AFTER A FOUL BREAK
You have to pot a colour legally on the second visit to determine your colour group. If you pot a ball on the first shot but fail to pot a ball on the second shot the table will remain “open”.
Potting a ball: If you pot a ball off the break you carry on playing but the table is “open” until a player pots a colour legally
Not potting off the break: If you do not pot a ball the table remains “open” until a player pots a colour legally.
POTTING BOTH COLOURS OFF THE BREAK OR WHEN OPEN TABLE
If you pot a red and a yellow off the break or at anytime before determining your colour group the table remains “open” until a single colour is potted legally.
USING A YELLOW TO POT A RED OR VICE-VERSA
You may play a yellow to pot a red or play a red to pot a yellow when the table is “open”, the colour of the potted ball will determine your colour group.
USING THE BLACK TO POT A COLOUR
You may not use the black to pot a colour after the break unless it is on a “foul” and you play the black on your first visit. In this instance the table will remain “open” until the next colour is potted legally.
DETERMINING COLOUR GROUP
The first colour potted legally after the break determines the colour group.
With every shot taken you must either pot a ball or cause the cue ball or any other ball to contact a cushion after the white strikes the object ball. The only exception to this is when you are fully snookered (see below note on Full Snookers).
FROZEN BALL TO CUSHION
If you play a colour ball which is “frozen” to a cushion (it is touching the cushion) that colour ball must be potted or either that ball or any other ball (including the white) must touch a different cushion (the white may touch that same cushion but if it does not then the frozen ball or any other colour ball must touch a different cushion).
If you are snookered fully (you cannot see either side of the object ball) you MUST get the referee to acknowledge the snooker. This is the only instance when you do not have to play a shot and have a ball hit a cushion after contact.
POTTING LAST BALL AND BLACK
You may pot your last colour and the black in the same pocket to win the frame.
The time rule will not be applicable. The same rules on time will apply as in previous years. Common sense and good sportsmanship should prevail at all times, if a player is deemed to be taking too long he/she should be warned and asked to take less time over the shot. The referee is solely responsible for this.